Home > Business, Musings > Does intrusive marketing work?

Does intrusive marketing work?

Saturday, February 18th, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

Here’s a shocker:  McAfee installing spam pop-ups on a machine: http://ricksegal.typepad.com/pmv/2006/02/mcafee_how_to_d.html

I got a call from a CIBC Visa telemarketer at 8 AM this Saturday with an inquiry about some promotion that was irrelevant to me.  They asked if I had received a Christmas promotional CD as this was only sent to a few customers.  Evidentally they don’t keep records of their junk mailings and want the customers to do their job for them.  CIBC is the same company that inserted a nag screen (promotional junk) on my online account that I had to acknowledge prior to allowing me access to my account.  I yelled at them about that and it vanished.

And my alma mater, without my permission, gave my supposedly confidential contact information to a credit card company so they could fire aggressive telemarketers at me. 

But does this kind of intrusive marketing really work?  Certainly it completely turns me off an organization (as it apparently did Rick Segal), and if it repeats after a complaint I terminate the service.  But am I just intolerant?  Do organizations actually earn extra business by abusing (IMO) their customer relationship in this way?

Categories: Business, Musings
  1. Francois
    Monday, February 20th, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    Now that continues to amaze me too…. They do it here with phone calls around 6 p.m. (the time most Dutch families gather for dinner).. and it really really annoyes me.

    So much so that I turn nasty to ANY one of them who calls uninvited! And I most certainly will NOT buy anything off those companies.

    But they do it with email SPAM as well….. which is in a way less intrusive. I do not need to feel ‘guilty’ to say ‘NO’ to a human being that way.

    Which I think is what this ‘technique’ is about? Hoping that many people will have trouble being blunt?

    It probably works, otherwise it would have stopped long ago :-((

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers