Home > Alaska, Development, Flight Simulation, Flightsim, Travel > …meanwhile back in the Real World

…meanwhile back in the Real World

Thursday, July 6th, 2006

I’m off on Sunday for a week on an Alaska cruise leaving from Vancouver. We’ll have stops in Ketchikan, Juneau and Skagway. In Ketchikan, weather permitting, we’ll take a floatplane through some of the Misty Fjords area. We’re planning a heli trip in Juneau, and I’m planning to take the train from Skagway back to my old stomping grounds of Carcross and Spirit Lake in the Yukon. I used to live in an old cabin by Spirit Lake, but the cruises didn’t run tours up there in those days. I imagine it’s changed a bit.

We’re travelling Harbour Air from Victoria harbour to Vancouver harbour to get to Canada Place, and West Coast Air on the way back.  So that’ll be my first opportunity to fly on some of the floatplane schedules I’ve modelled.

So flightsim development is on hold until I get back. Once Holger has Tongass out, he’ll have a bit more time (between all his other projects!) to finish off his changes to Vancouver+ for version 1.1.

  1. Jan
    Monday, November 6th, 2006 at 12:31 am

    Lived at Spirit Lake?
    Check our web site, was it here you lived??

    Would love to know when you lived there..

    Cheers,

    Jan Aalt van den Hoorn

  2. Monday, November 6th, 2006 at 12:35 pm

    Hi Jan,

    Indeed that’s the place. My partner and I were there for half of the winter of 93-94 in one of the cabins near the lake. By January we discovered that the squirrels had stolen most of the insulation in the ceiling!

    Looks like you folks have done a great job of sprucing up the place since then.

    I can put a simple representation of the main buildings (and a couple of cabins) in this release if you provide some photos. Let me know if you’re interested, and I can give you the photo requirements.

    Jon

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers