Home > Alaska, Carcross, Flightsim, Skagway, Travel > Back from Alaska

Back from Alaska

Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve posted some photos here. Overall it was a great cruise, we went on a floatplane trip from Ketchikan into the Misty Fjords area, including a landing on one of the Fjords. In Juneau we took a helicopter ride on to the Mendenhall Glacier, and from Skagway I travelled to my old stomping grounds of Carcross, Yukon.

Mendenhall Glacier

  1. Katie
    Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 4:52 pm

    Fantastic photo – I love the colors.

  2. Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 5:02 pm

    Thanks, Katie. The guides (in several areas) state that the bright blue colour is characteristic of ice that’s been under the extreme pressure of a glacier, and is 10 to 100 denser than regular ice. But since this ice floats, it’s density can’t be much different than regular ice, so perhaps the blue is from marl in the water or some other material. I suspect those intense pressures are relieved as soon as the ice nears the surface.

  3. Sox
    Friday, July 21st, 2006 at 11:38 am

    Hi Jon:
    Thanks for sharing the photos with us.

    I lived in Whitehorse for five years, 1969-1970 and enjoyed the country very much. My last trip to the Yukon was in 1999. An old chum of mine took me fishing on Bennet Lake and area…great time.

    Thank you very much for the work you have done for the Gulf Islands. I’m looking forward to installing Ganges float plane terminal and Oscar Papa from Saltspring Air. I do a lot of simming in this area and appreciate the work you did on Maple Bay also.

    I agree with your comments about Quick Time. It’s way too intrusive for my liking. I know of at least one other person (Neil Cameron) who won’t use it because of its tendency to take over the computer. So, I suspect there are a lot of others out there who feel the same way.
    Sox.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers