Home > Business, Technical > YouTube is cool, but…

YouTube is cool, but…

Sunday, November 5th, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve seen lots of great videos recently on YouTube.  But I’ve always been suspicious of sites that have sleazy banner ads.  I noted to day that YouTube is going one step further: when using the search function, 5/6 times rather than getting what I sought, I was presented with a cheesy flashing banner, “You’re the 1,000,000th visitor! You’ve won a Free* laptop!  Claim within 080 [insert countdown counter here] seconds!”

For fun I clicked the link, and indeed if you sign up for spam, plus 6 trial offers of various products, and get 2 households that you refer to also sign up for all that junk, they claim they’ll send you a laptop.

Now I’m ignorant of the law, but isn’t telling lies in advertising illegal?  (Yes, I was the 1,000,000th visitor many times today!)

I’m not impressed YouTube.

Categories: Business, Technical
  1. Wednesday, November 8th, 2006 at 2:48 pm

    Such a ridiculous advertisement, I saw it several times but can’t believe that they still doing it, .. do anybody believe them?!

  2. wji
    Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 8:26 am

    “I’m not impressed YouTube.”
    Gee, Jon, not even after Google paid 1.6 Billion (yes, that’s billion with a B)
    cheers,
    bill
    P.S. Lovin’ Youtube (I have three-pages of my own flying-videos posted there)

  3. Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    … yup, I do love the YouTube product; it’s well done. Add to that $1.6B the $500M in licensing rights that’s proposed. I wonder how quickly they can recover that kind of investment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 96 other followers