Home > DX10, Flight Simulation, Flightsim, FSX > More notes on XPack – FSX Acceleration

More notes on XPack – FSX Acceleration

Tuesday, October 9th, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

I ran my framerate benchmark on XPack today.  Now the thrust of the product is the amazing array of new missions and some cool new aircraft, but some work has been done on performance optimization.

I found an increase of about 11% in frame rates with high autogen and water settings, and a decrease of about the same with those settings set low.  So for those who want the eye candy, they may see a slight improvement.  Note that these tests all had bloom disabled.

There are also some backward compatibility issues in DX9 which affect third party aircraft and scenery compiled using FS9 tools.  These problems can arise when an “alpha” channel is used for transparency or semi-transparency. 

We restricted ourselves in Vancouver+ and Victoria+ to only using FS9 compilations when we needed a function not available in FSX, such as seasonal tree textures.  We’re looking at how to deal with this. 

 We’ve not yet thoroughly tested under DX10, and Phil Taylor has made clear that the DX10 “preview” is not necessarily backward compatable.  Two old FS8/9 features were model conditions (for such things as seasonal textures), and the ground polygons so important to detailed airports: these may be at risk.  DX10 may show some performance improvements.  Phil does say in his blog post that MS understands that they need to look closely at making it easier for developers to provide they features they could under previous versions by providing alternative techniques.

Only a couple of more weeks until it hits the shelves … for those keen on experiencing new missions, it’s a great product.  If missions are not important to you and/or you want to be sure all your addon scenery products will work for you as they do under SP1, you may want to consider putting that money towards Battlestar Galactica, out a week earlier. ;)

  1. Larry Thompson
    Tuesday, November 6th, 2007 at 4:14 am

    Hi Jon just got the delivered Email from simm market today . I am currently Using XP Are you saying that If I purchase the acceleration pack not all of Vancouver+ scenery will show ? I have been amazed at how much smoother FSX seems to be over FS9 so Im not sure if the apparent performance boost is worth the cost of the Xpack?. Also I have tried some of the addon landclass files from FS9 in FSX . They work Great except that the shore line textures are missing any Ideas?

  2. Tuesday, November 6th, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Hi Larry,

    Wtih XPack there will be only very minor implications on Vancouver. Let me know if you find any. Some folks get a performance boost, some not (I didn’t see mihc), so that’s a risky reason to upgrade. The primary reason woudl be to get the missions and new aircraft.

    On the landclass files, the systems are different, so some will be ok some not. The solution is to use FSX LC files. ;)

    Jon

  3. Larry Thompson
    Tuesday, November 6th, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    OK John I might just leave it for now
    I am especially looking forward to the Langley airport scenery as my dad keeps his RV6 there and I just work and live a few blocks away. Just need to find a nice RV6 for FSX I doubt the one I have would run because it was designed for 2002 and has flashed a few incompatible feature warnings when installing it in FS9?

  4. Larry Thompson
    Tuesday, November 6th, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    oops sorry Jon spelled your name wrong

  5. Wednesday, November 7th, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Larry, you can always try stuff out, you never know what’ll work. No worries on the mis-spelling… ;)

  6. Larry Thompson
    Friday, November 16th, 2007 at 12:02 am

    Jon just got Vancouver+ in the mail today which is also my birthday great timing have installed it and must say is there anything you missed? The only trouble is that I must now upgrade my computer . but from what I have seen It is definitely worth it. I did do a flight from Langley to Pitt meadows and that was great. I will play around with settings to see if Ican get the frame rate up My system now consists of an Athalon 2800+ 32bit 1gig of ram 6600gt with 128 mbs of ram running XP any suggestions for now? just a couple of Questions on the CD it says check the CD for eventually included product files? and also where or what is Delta north airport?

  7. Friday, November 16th, 2007 at 7:58 am

    Glad you’ve got it at last, Larry. You are drastically underpowered for running FSX. You’ll need a much faster dual-core CPU, 2-3Gb of RAM and a new video card with at least 512Mb of RAM. Other than that I suggest dropping by the AVSIM hardware forum for more detailed suggested.

    I don’t understand your question on the CD, can you ask Simmarket product support?

    Delta North is a heliport, quite tiny. Start your flight at CBD2.

  8. Larry Thompson
    Friday, November 16th, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Ok Jon that may be my next project . But I did find that by cutting out the add on AI , the ambient sound and the minor roads I can maintain a smooth 20 fps over the Fraser valley in the stock Cessna the Langley scenery , the land class improvements and the improved terrain are fantastic . Now I must convince my wife that we need a new computer. do you think it performs better in vista or XP?

  9. Friday, November 16th, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Good to hear, Larry.

    From reports I’ve heard Vista is still problematic, and you certainly won’t see a performance increase.

    On the other hand, the newest video cards are DX10, only supported on Vista. FSX-SP2 DX10 capability is considered a “preview” and you will run into some problems with some legacy scenery and aircraft.

    Personally if I was upgrading, I’d bite the bullet and get DX10/Vista.

  10. Larry Thompson
    Wednesday, November 21st, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    Jon here is a question that I can never seem to get an answer to . When installing add on scenery to FSX/FS9 it gives you the option to either use the scenery directly or cache it is there any advantage to caching it?

  11. Martin vandenBerg
    Thursday, November 22nd, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Hi Gents,
    I need your advice please.
    My system specs are as follows:
    XP Home edition SP2.( Up to date )
    AMD Athlon 64 Processor3500+ 2211 Mhz.
    Nvidia GeForce 7900 GTX 512 MB
    Mainboard: AGP PCI USB i2c/SMBus
    A8N-SLI Premium
    BIOS: Nvidia-4230e31
    My problem is as follows:
    I have just purchased and installed the Acceleration package
    on the above system.
    On launching the game, my screen goes totally black.
    Sound however, is 100%.
    As soon as I uninstall Acceleration, my FSX runs normally
    with no problems at all.
    I have tried drivers, all known graphic settings etc.but to no avail.
    I just cannot get the addon to work.
    Kindly advise.
    Regards,
    Martin.

  12. Friday, November 23rd, 2007 at 8:34 am

    @Larry: I dunno!
    @Martin: I’ve heard of such issues, suggest you drop by FSX forum at http://www.avsim.com and search there. If you don’t find anything, post your issue. Good luck!

  1. Friday, December 14th, 2007 at 3:57 pm
  2. Sunday, March 2nd, 2008 at 12:03 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers