Home > DX10, Technical > GPU (video card) considerations

GPU (video card) considerations

Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Phil Taylor provides a detailed analysis of GPU specs and implications.

Categories: DX10, Technical
  1. Ken
    Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I was somewhat surprised to see that post on his blog. I had sent him an e:mail hoping to hear something but I wasn’t ready for the work he ended up putting into his analysis.

    With that post and the Slow Quad core is better than a Fast Duo core work done by the other fellow we know what we now need. :-)

    Ken

  2. Mike (lotus films)
    Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Hi Jon. I didn’t know where else to put this, but since you’d mentioned it on your blog at one point, I figured I’d let you know: I came up with a solution for the flashing clouds problem in SP2/Accel. I posted the procedure in the Avsim FSX forum, should be easy to locate. Let me know if you have trouble locating the thread, not sure if I can post links here.

    Cheers mate! (as a Vancouverite I’m a *huge* fan of your work :))

    -mike

  3. Thursday, January 31st, 2008 at 10:19 am

    That’s great news, Mike, please post the link and I’ll put it in the main part of the blog. Thank you!

  4. Mike (lotus films)
    Thursday, January 31st, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Hey Jon. Here’s the link:

    http://forums.avsim.net/dcboard.php?az=show_topic&forum=121&topic_id=434059&mesg_id=434059&page=

    Just be aware that after some further testing I’ve discovered two minor issues with it, which I’m still working on. Some global scenery objects refuse to respect their LODs and come in as max lod only, so fps can take a bit of a dive in places like seattle with all the port cranes. The other is that multiple layers of cumulus clouds don’t sort quite as well as before, not that they ever did haha.

    Cheers!

    -mike

  5. Friday, February 1st, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Great, thanks, Mike!

  6. Sunday, May 3rd, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Love all the different types of scenery. I especially want the best for the pacific northewest, like Seattle, San Juan Islands, Vancouver island and Vancouver area. Drop me a line if you know which is best running. RIck

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers