Home > Books > Inspiration or …

Inspiration or …

Sunday, January 8th, 2006

I’m reading Bob Dylan’s autobiographical “Chronicles”. His writing seems honest (the occaisonal misused or misspelt word is a clue perhaps) and surprisingly articulate. Why did I think he was a doped-up pothead? At times he says he behaved strangely just to hide the mis-applied mantle of hippie evangelist. Maybe that’s what I remember. What’s most interesting to me is his descriptions of his creative process, which varied from time to time. I liked that his view that trying or pushing to create didn’t produce a good result, but connecting somehow to a flow did; whether inspired by hearing another artist, discussion with a friend, or just a realization apparently out of the blue. He describes the sessions for a number of later songs; it’d be very interesting to listen to those.

Categories: Books