Home > Business > Catching up

Catching up

Wednesday, January 18th, 2006

After a couple of years absence from the local (Victoria, Canada) industry scene, I’m catching up a bit recently, connecting to folks I know in part to determine which local successful companies might be interesting to work with.

I discovered that a couple of the active companies I knew from a few years back have been acquired by large multinationals (IBM, Schneider Electric); good for them. And there are a number of very interesting local companies, odd for a small town like this. For example, Abebooks and National Money Mart are headquartered here, as is Mercurial Communications who did the Netscape 8.0 browser for AOL. Carmanah Technologies’ sales of solar-powered LED lighting systems (including runway and taxiway lighting systems) are growing rapidly.

Most fun though is catching up with the doings of the folks I know. As much as I enjoy the Flightsim world and all the great people I know there, it’s refreshing to talk to people in real life, rather than skyping or forum exchanges or emails. And with the healthy local economy most people are doing quite well.

Categories: Business
  1. Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    I too have ‘hidden life’ outside the FS ‘scene’. I have joined a regional chapter of Digikring (means Digital Circle), an organization where self-employed IT people meet and discuss work, opportunities and contacts. I design and make websites for local businesses and help individuals cope with the perils of technology as an advisor.
    The face-to-face work with local customers is a great way to stay ‘sane’ …. make some extra money, and stay in touch with my ‘old’ profession if you like.

    Hope you’ll find good things to do too ! 🙂

    Francois

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.