Home > Learning, Victoria > Middle School

Middle School

Tuesday, February 7th, 2006

Last night my wife and daughter and I attended an open-house at the Middle School our daughter will be going to in the fall. It brought back of course memories of my own schooling in the 60s, but with a twist: the environment seemed dramatically more positive and supportive. There were far more activities available for the kids, including on-site afterschool care, and various posters spoke to school guidelines for respectful behaviour or bluntly encouraged the kids to reach out (800-668-6868, Canada only I believe) if they were dealing with sexual or other difficult adolescent issues. Very cool.

Categories: Learning, Victoria
  1. pilotgothic1
    Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 11:45 am

    I can fully agree. Our daughter joins the elementary school in fall and while checking several schools I can clearly see that things have changed in many ways. Today’s childs are far more self confident and will be treated in a more respectful way then in the “old days”! This looks very promising!

  2. Francois
    Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 11:28 pm

    Interesting… ‘middle’ school ? I guess you have different nomenclature than the US? Sounds more like Dutch ; ‘Middelbare School’, which is High School 🙂

    As for the ‘quality of life’ in schools… here it pretty heavily depends on WHERE the school is. The ones in my neighborhood are pretty much as you describe. But the ones in big cities with the increasing problem of ‘alochtones’ are not anywhere near as good, with lots of violence problems. I am glad I never wanted to live in the city 😉

  3. Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 1:41 pm

    Each province is different, here in BC we have elementary school (K-5), middle (6-8), and High School (9-12).

    My experience with my grown sons in a big city (Vancouver) was that the environment was tougher, but still very supportive. And one son went through a state-supported alternative school there and I was very impressed.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.