Home > Technical > Cooledit 2000 issue

Cooledit 2000 issue

Sunday, April 30th, 2006

I have been using Cooledit 2000 happily for years.  Unfortunately this product is no longer available, and Adobe, who purchased the product rights declines to support it or offer it any longer.  So when I suddenly could not convert .wav files to mp3 I was concerned.  The message: "File is probably in use by another application."  Clearly spurious, as the file was not.  But with some help from a suggestion in a forum years ago, I realized the problem was caused when I accidently had two copies of the same file open, and modified one.  Cooledit then loses track of what is open and what is not.  So the solution (if anyone every has this problem again) is to delete the COOL.INI file in Documents and Settings\<user>\Application Data\Syntrillium\Cooledit, and allow Cooledit to recreate this file.  You'll have to do a trivial bit of setup again when you next run Cooledit.  Phew.

Categories: Technical
  1. disco d
    Saturday, October 25th, 2008 at 8:22 am

    Hi,

    I have used Cool Edit Pro since 1997 and Adobe Audition since thereafter. It has run perfectly on all Windows platforms – including the recent, Vista.

    I can open a WAV file from my internal hard drive, edit it, and save over the original with no problems. However, as of October 20th 2008, if i open a WAV file from any of my external hard drives, edit it save over the orginal, it says..

    “File is probably in use by another application. Please close the other application and try saving again.”

    I can, of course, save it under a different name by adding an x (or anything) to the file name. But, this is a pain, as i then have to delete each orginal file, manually.

    I can find AppData > Roaming > Adobe > Audition

    but, only the following files exist in this folder…

    AudCust, AUDITION, AudMP3, flt.dat, recovr00.dat, WDM, xfm.dat

    What do I need to change, to solve this ‘saving’ issue and return things back to normal, please?

    Any help or advice would be gratefully received, thank you 🙂

  2. Saturday, October 25th, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Odd, indeed. If you’re using Vista, have you administrator privileges? Under Folder Options->View, have you selected “show hidden files and folders” and deselected “Hide protected operating systems files”? Your .ini may show up then …

  3. disco d
    Saturday, October 25th, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Thank you for the quick response. This is driving me nuts!

    As an experiment i Right Clicked on the WAV file > Properties > Security > Group or user names:
    SYSTEM
    Administrators
    Users

    I noticed, under Users, the “permissions for Users” boxes were not all ticked. In particular – Full Control, Modify and Write.
    Once ticking these, pressing Apply, and Ok.
    I was able to open, edit and save the file under it’s own name (just i had done for years).

    How do I set this up permanently. So, that I don’t have to do this with every file?
    I can’t see anything specific in Folder Options, in regard to this.
    Also, I have unchecked “show hidden folders” and deselected “Hide protected operating system files” – despite the later triggering an alert that this action is not recommended.

    I’m still wondering why it has suddenly done this? I haven’t changed ANY settings, previously.

    It may be co-incidence but, there was a major Windows (self)Update and self-boot, this week. It’s been giving me this error since.

    If this is not a Vista issue, is there possible a fix?
    I can re-name a dll, if i have to!

    Thank you, once again 🙂

    • Fred Ellert
      Thursday, December 5th, 2013 at 6:14 am

      Did you ever get this Cool Edit error message resolved? I am having the same problem. Deleting the Cool.ini does not fix the error message,

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.