Home > Technical > The monitor arrived

The monitor arrived

Monday, May 1st, 2006

The replacement monitor finally appeared, and it works fine. Much larger virtual desktop to work with; already easier. And I see that if I want to playback video on the TV, I have to disable one monitor, which is fine. I can only have 2 out of the 3 active at one time.

And I finally got around to getting the sound I/O card: M-Audio FastTrack Pro. So far it doesn’t work, and I have a call into tech support. The sound card on the Asus board is quite noisy (electrically speaking), but I didn’t expect to use it for much, and had budgeted for a sound box of some kind.

Categories: Technical
  1. FaxCap
    Thursday, May 4th, 2006 at 11:22 am

    When I built this PC a few months back I bit the bullet and bought a Sound Blaster X-Fi. All I can say is “worth every penny.” 🙂

    FaxCap

  2. Thursday, May 4th, 2006 at 12:39 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. My system actually doesn’t have a great playback system: not great speakers (GT5051), and cheesy MB-based electronics. The extra sound card is for audio recording and MIDI I/O. The M-Audio box ended up not working properly, and I now have a Tascam US-122 which works fine.

    Jon

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.