Home > Business, Technical > Goodbye iTunes

Goodbye iTunes

Monday, June 12th, 2006

The email from iTunes I quoted yesterday ended with, "If you require more in-depth assistance, please call Apple technical support at 800-APL-CARE (800-275-2273)." So as promised yesterday, I screwed my courage to the sticking place, and phoned AppleCare. After some time they told me that they had no ability to support iTunes and to email the mswin@apple.com. LOL. Of course that's where I was directed to Apple Care.

Between Apple's misleading ads, their intrusive installations (QuickTime hijacked my file assignments without telling me), and their lack of product support, I do see a company focused on short-term gain without consideration of the long-term effect.

Bottom-line is that I'm using Apple data I've purchased (a video) on Apple software (iTunes + QuickTime) and it doesn't work. I have no recourse, unless I want to take them to court. And I'm not a big fan of adversarial resolution.

So I'll vote with my wallet. What they've created in me is a strong desire to direct folks away from any Apple products. At the same time I see Microsoft opening up in many ways to become more human. Let's see how this pans out over the next few years.

Meantime, Ciao iTunes. Time to find a new source of music!

EDIT:  I found this site which lists other sources. I think one of the reasons it took me so long to find an alternative was the belief that iTunes is probably more comprehensive.  When I get some time, I'll look at these.  Certainly the one site I checked out as a disappointment: it appears you have to sign up before looking at the song selection. There's a sure way to drive potential customers away!

The reality is that if you click "About" at the bottom of the screen it's possible to browse the selections.  Why make that obscure?

Categories: Business, Technical
  1. Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 at 12:54 am

    Here you go if you are looking for a new music download site! There are many benefits to this site that you can look into by watching the commercial at the bottom middle of the screen.

  2. Monday, September 17th, 2007 at 11:40 am

    My daughter got a new apple lap top.
    she wants to transfer all the music she has bought on my creit care apl I tunes but her old PC is fried. Can you help us. 805-544-0605 Thanks Kayce Slade

  3. Monday, September 17th, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    That’s too bad, Kayce! But this is where your AppleCare should be able to help you. Give them a call. (the number will be in the information she got with her laptop)

  1. Saturday, July 28th, 2007 at 11:27 am
  2. Saturday, November 15th, 2008 at 10:14 am
Comments are closed.