Home > Business, Technical > Sometimes software is too bizarre to be anything but funny…

Sometimes software is too bizarre to be anything but funny…

Wednesday, August 9th, 2006

Check this out: for my corporate website my wife suggested a different font, and colour scheme.  She’s good at that stuff, and the new colour theme (light blue) looks way better.  The font is a different matter: Franklin Gothic Medium, a standard Windows font, I believe.  In Photoshop Elements on my machine however, the only variant available is italic, not regular, which I want.  Ick.  On her computer, in Photoshop Elements, regular IS available.  On all other applications on my machine the font is available in regular, italic, bold and italic bold.  To be sure I copied the font from her machine to mine, and rebooted.  No go, it’s just not available in Photoshop.  I’m sure there’s some logical explanation, but it struck me as so absurd as to be quite funny . . . in the meantime I’ll stick to my bold Verdana for the sub-headings, and hope for a bolt of inspiration.

Categories: Business, Technical