Home > Business, Technical > YouTube is cool, but…

YouTube is cool, but…

Sunday, November 5th, 2006

I’ve seen lots of great videos recently on YouTube.  But I’ve always been suspicious of sites that have sleazy banner ads.  I noted to day that YouTube is going one step further: when using the search function, 5/6 times rather than getting what I sought, I was presented with a cheesy flashing banner, “You’re the 1,000,000th visitor! You’ve won a Free* laptop!  Claim within 080 [insert countdown counter here] seconds!”

For fun I clicked the link, and indeed if you sign up for spam, plus 6 trial offers of various products, and get 2 households that you refer to also sign up for all that junk, they claim they’ll send you a laptop.

Now I’m ignorant of the law, but isn’t telling lies in advertising illegal?  (Yes, I was the 1,000,000th visitor many times today!)

I’m not impressed YouTube.

Categories: Business, Technical
  1. Wednesday, November 8th, 2006 at 2:48 pm

    Such a ridiculous advertisement, I saw it several times but can’t believe that they still doing it, .. do anybody believe them?!

  2. wji
    Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 8:26 am

    “I’m not impressed YouTube.”
    Gee, Jon, not even after Google paid 1.6 Billion (yes, that’s billion with a B)
    cheers,
    bill
    P.S. Lovin’ Youtube (I have three-pages of my own flying-videos posted there)

  3. Tuesday, December 5th, 2006 at 2:14 pm

    … yup, I do love the YouTube product; it’s well done. Add to that $1.6B the $500M in licensing rights that’s proposed. I wonder how quickly they can recover that kind of investment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.