Skagway Terminal

Friday, January 12th, 2007

I’ve added to my duties on Glacier Bay: I’ll be doing some features of the City of Skagway.  I’ll include some airport buildings, the bulk terminal, and cruise ship berths.  Larry Silsbee will be doing the marina.  Here’s the first couple of screenshots of the PAGY terminal building.  We will be able to represent Skagway with some accuracy to the generous help from the Tlingit Regional Housing Authority in cooperation with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development (Commerce).  They have kindly supplied recent hi-resolution georeferenced orthophoto data (airphoto) for the area.

For example, I was able to measure the footprint and locate the building below with 1′ resolution and 2′ accuracy.  I then added features and textures taken from photographs I took last summer.

