Home > Flight Simulation, Flightsim, FSX > A tickler on FSX performance in SP1 from Paul Lange

A tickler on FSX performance in SP1 from Paul Lange

Friday, February 23rd, 2007

Paul Lange suggests in this post, that the performance increase target for FSX SP1 is 20%, +/- a bit depending on configuration … and of course that brings up a question or two: Will dual cores be better utilized?  Will systems with video cards with 512Mb of RAM see a better increase?  Will the high autogen hit be improved?

  1. Frank Grindel
    Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 12:24 pm

    Is this with XP and Vista?

  2. Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Hi Frank, Paul didn’t specify the operating system, but I suspect that the performance improvement would be true for both … remember though that SP1 is focused on DX9/XP systems.

  3. Frank Grindel
    Saturday, February 24th, 2007 at 5:16 am

    Good morning Jon,

    I’m starting to get this queasy feeling that DX10 and Vista is more marketing than performance.
    It would be refreshing if some side by side numbers were posted.
    Frank

  4. Saturday, February 24th, 2007 at 9:12 am

    And good day to you, Frank! I don’t know if we’ll ever see that comparison, and in any case, it won’t exist until the DX10 version is developed. I expect that most of the work on that version will occur after SP1…

  5. Frank Grindel
    Saturday, February 24th, 2007 at 10:53 am

    Hi Jon,

    In retrospect, I see that my FSX package mentions XP and Vista but absolutely nothing about DX10. So I guess I can hold off on that nVidia GeForce 8800 for awhile.
    I was under the apparently false impression that when Vista was released we would have the corresponding DX10 patch and now they can’t even get a DX9 patch out the door.
    This sim was hyped to the nth degree and we were all snookered.
    Frank

  6. Saturday, February 24th, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Yup, it’s been a somewhat frustrating process for many folks. But I’m not sure if we got snookered: I think their intentions were good, and something went off track during development. MS has been clear for a few months that we can expect a DX10 patch sometime this year … and MS could hardly develop for DX10 when the development environment wasn’t available untiil late in the cycle. What’s new in the last couple of months is MS’s decision that the retail version released this fall was enough below consumer’s expectations to warrant a patch (SP1). Clearly that must delay the DX10 version, which I assume will be SP2. And hopefully SP2 will address a few more issues, like the round earth problem.

    And maybe I wasn’t clear about something: FSX retail was XP and Vista ready.

  7. Frank Grindel
    Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 6:25 am

    Good morning Jon,

    My readme doc says the following:

    “Microsoft Flight Simulator X and Microsoft Windows Vista

    Flight Simulator X is designed to run on the Windows Vista operating system. Flight Simulator X was released prior to the completion of Windows Vista.”
    There is nothing on my materials that says “Vista ready”.
    Additionally, there is a nifty little Intel Core 2 logo stamped on the box. I’m sure folks with those CPUs probably had some puzzlement when they watched half of their core humming along at idle.
    I think add-on sales have suffered as a result of the way this version was introduced. Also attempts to attract new users probably went down the toilet bowl after they witnessed the performance of the game on their machines. How do you spell fiasco?

    I realize you are caught in the middle as a developer and tester and are obliged to feign some type of good feeling towards the user but the reality is the product was not ready for release.

  8. Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Hi Frank, thanks for the information. I remember that caveat now. And the retail version was tested on Vista systems to some degree.

    Add-on sales have certainly suffered significantly by the approach MS has taken, both because of the significant change in platform, the lack of legacy compatibility in some features and the inability to do some stuff we could do in FS9. These issues have greatly delayed the introduction of FSX-compatible addons. This despite the much-earlier introduction of the SDK than for FS9.

    As for being caught in the middle, I’m not. I have my own opinion, and I state it. You did catch me though: I do have good feelings towards all involved and just want solutions that meet our needs.

    Good thread, Frank!

    Jon

  9. Frank Grindel
    Monday, February 26th, 2007 at 7:20 am

    Good morning Jon,

    If I had to single out one individual it would be Shawn Firminger. Here is his interview at the Flightsim web site.http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/feature/firming.htm
    I equate him with Frank Lorenzo of Texas International Airlines and the demise of the airline industry. Lorenzo turned airlines into bus companies and bad ones at that. Firminger’s doing the same for the Flight Sim industry.
    Please re-read Firminger’s interview carefully and you will see why I’m a wee-bit jaded at this point in time.
    Have a great day,
    Frank

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.