Hal’s lament

Monday, March 5th, 2007

Hal Bryan has a tongue-in-cheek “letter to marketing” on his blog today.  Apparently some bashers and trolls, as well as folks with some honest feedback, are questioning a number of aspects related to the recent announcement of product plans for FSX.  This to me is inevitable when dealing with such a large segment of the public, and individuals who can remain anonymous.  It reflects the passion people have about the game, er sim, and sometimes their maturity and sometimes their lack thereof.  And some folks are still smarting from disappointment with FSX (time to let that go, I think).

So keep those announcements coming, MS, slip on your armor before checking the forums (it ain’t personal), don’t get hooked into bashing back, and continue to sift through the barrage of feedback for the valuable tidbits.  This open communication can only have positive results in the long term.

  1. Frank Grindel
    Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Hi Jon,

    Looks like I finally struck a nerve!

  2. Frank Grindel
    Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Is Landclass being addressed in SP1? I know Cloud 9 has been busy in this regard but my hope was it would be resolved or rethought with SP1.

  3. Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    Hi Frank, dunno if landclass is being addressed.

  4. Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Thanks for the plug, and the advice Jon! 😉

    I’m *always* looking for a chance to tell Marketing “I told you so” …

    Anyway, my armor is all shined up, ready for the next one!

    Cheers –

    Hal

  5. Monday, March 5th, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    I plugged? I’ll have to pay more attention …

    You’re welcome, eh. Surprisingly I have lots of free advice to give, no worries.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.