Is it real?

Monday, April 30th, 2007

I just did my first flight-for-fun with Vancouver+ and FSX SP1 beta3.  From Vancouver Harbour (CYHC) I flew East across Burnaby, New Westminster and to Pitt Meadows before heading back to the city.  Then I flew over Grouse Mountain, and over to Howe Sound.  Over to Stawamus Chief, then back to the Harbour.  After landing in the Beaver at CYHC, I drifted towards Canada Place.

Hi-res version here

  1. Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 2:08 am

    It’s a nice description of the route of your first flight with FSX SP1 beta3.

    How was the performance? Was it always fluid without stuttering?

  2. Bernie Spanier
    Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 2:22 am

    Hi Jon…That’s magic. What are the specs of your rig? I’ve just picked up an Intel 6600 2.4 Quad core and I’m still using XP with a 7600 NVIDIA card so hopefully I can get something akin to what you show here. It’s awsome. Keep up the good work. Looking forward to Vancouver+ for FSX.

    Cheers
    Bernie

  3. Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 7:22 am

    Hi Max, I have to reserve my comments on performance until SP1 is released, and I will post more details then. I had a nice flight, though!

    Bernie I have an AMD X2 4200+, so older machine now, with a 7900GT (256Mb) and 2Gb RAM. You should be able to exceed my performance I’d think, with your faster, newer multi core.

  4. Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Great picture and description!

    I’ll have to wait a little due to insufficient hardware I’m afraid.

  5. Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Could be Alex, but with my machine I have settings turned up pretty high in general. My specs don’t reflect the minimum requirement.

  6. Tuesday, May 1st, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Hi John, what are the specs of your PC?

  7. Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 7:07 am

    Hi Max: AMD X2 4200+, with a 7900GT (256Mb) and 2Gb RAM. 800Gb SATA-II RAID0 drive array.

  8. CanadaKen
    Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Jon, is that default FSX water texture?

    CK

  9. Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Nope, that’s one of Holger’s magic custom water textures.

  10. Terry
    Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Hi Jon, I would like to ask you about the water textures appeared at the screenshot above.Since they are not the custom FSX water textures,are they gonna be added to FSX through SP1 or any update patch or are they textures for use only with the vancouver add-on?
    Thanks

  11. Dave YVR ATC
    Thursday, May 3rd, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Hi Jon, I’m sure it’s been asked before but can you say that the Fraser river extends past Agazzi with SP1? It’s just not right how the majority of BC’s rivers are just not there in FSX.

  12. Thursday, May 3rd, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Dave, MS made no secret about SP1: focused on performance, and multi-core usage. There may be other goodies fixed, but bugs like that are not the focus. Don’t forget that Vancouver+ will fill in a lot of the hydrology in South-West BC.

  13. Thursday, May 3rd, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    OK, I was full of malarky, those are default water textures: Holger has used other FSX waterclasses for the Vancouver area. Hence it doesn’t look like the default. Mea culpa.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.