Home > Flight Simulation, Flightsim, FSX > More tips from Phil, and Ultimate Traffic for FSX released.

More tips from Phil, and Ultimate Traffic for FSX released.

Monday, June 11th, 2007

Phil posts about TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT and BUFFERPOOLS.  I found the TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT significantly reduced my stutters.  Right now I’m very happy with my performance (getting 20-35 fps around CYNJ as I develop it), so I’m going to leave well enough alone. But another tip applies to us all: don’t set AI traffic (I think Phil is referring to GA and Airline traffic) above 80% at any time.

I was pleased to see the release of Ultimate Traffic for FSX the other day.  Ultimate Traffic is one of my all time favourite addons for FS9.  And for UTraffic FS9 users, it was only US$10.  I was quickly bummed when I tried it out and found it to be the FS9 version adapted to work in FSX.  It’s a “Classic” version intended to “bridge the gap” until a true FSX product is released.  What’s this mean to the average user?  The traffic uses FS8/9 style files, which means any newer FSX-standard traffic will be disabled.  Doesn’t matter much for FSX default air traffic, as the intent of UTraffic–to replace it.  But it also disables all FSX ship and ferry traffic world-wide, and disables any other FSX-style traffic that other addons have. 

(EDIT: corrected “boat and ship” to “ferry and ship”)

It’s a tough choice for users: a number of addons use FS9 traffic files, which will kill all FSX-style traffic.  I encourage developers to move to FSX traffic ASAP so we don’t leave users in the lurch.

To help with this, Peter van der Veen is working on an excellent conversion utility that will allow developers to easily convert their FS9-input files to FSX traffic files.  In Vancouver+ the configurator will give the user the choice of FS9 or FSX traffic, but wags a finger and crinkles the brow if FS9 is chosen.

UTraffic also uses some older models in which the textures don’t render properly at a distance, and the aircraft show as black.  For the informed user for which these issues are not important, UTraffic adds a world of life to FSX with very little performance hit compared to FSX default AI.

In the next few days I hope to test MyTrafficX with Vancouver+.  It’s a true FSX traffic addon, as I understand it.

  1. Chas C
    Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Jon,
    Agree whole=heatedly on your comments as regards Ultimate Traffic for FSX. I have been in touch with their support forum and through e-mail, this is before I read your Blog, and they categorically state that it is FSX compatible. A bit of an arguement developed unfortunately.

    I agree that it is an excellent product, but a lot of work using AISORT to convert it is now underway.

    Regards

    Charlie

  2. Bernie Spanier
    Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Hi Jon,

    I’ve always been a bit confused over the ‘texture bandwidth multi’ thing’ I’ve never been sure how to place it in the fsx.cfg ie under main or texture or graphics or whatever? Can you write out your line and show me where it’s placed in the cfg file. Thanks, Cheers Bernie

  3. smithcorp
    Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Hi Jon, I have UT for FSX installed and I still seem to have all my boat traffic.

  4. Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Good info, is that third party addon boat traffic, or FSX ships and ferries? Or FSX small boats?

    Jon

  5. Wednesday, June 13th, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Hi Bernie,

    in the [Display] section look for TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT=. I have mine set to 40. If it doesn’t exist (and do a search to make sure!), you can add this line.

  6. smithcorp
    Thursday, June 14th, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Hi Jon – I don’t have any third-party boat addons, so it’s FSX boats. Still see plenty of them about with UTX running.

    I have been enjoying setting up the free-flight in the tower view (like in multiplay) and just watching AI (in fact my 2-year old daughter likes to sit on my lap and watch the planes) and i have seen plenty of small boats tooling around in the water. Haven’t seen ships yet, but I haven’t gone anywhere with ships since I installed UTX.

  7. Friday, June 15th, 2007 at 6:37 am

    You’re quite right, and I’ve corrected my post: the random leisure boats are not affected, just ships and ferries apparently.
    Personally I wasn’t a big fan of them in any case … in the Vancouver area we have our own water traffic. I haven’t flown enough outside the area to understand the impact.

  8. Jamesd
    Thursday, August 9th, 2007 at 5:57 am

    Another input for UT for FSX. The application is not configured to use the new FSX sound. All of the UT sound.cfg files point to the b737_400, but this plane does not exist, so you are still getting the same sound that you did in FS9. The alias= lines points to alias=b737_400\sound which would not work even if the plane exist. I have hacked my install to make the AI traffic use the enhanced FSX sound. I posted my fix on the UT forum, but there might be an easier way to do it.

  9. Jamesd
    Thursday, August 9th, 2007 at 6:19 am

    I hope the issue with the black aircraft will get resolved. I have tried MyTrafficX and decided that UT give me much better performance and better looking models. I have my AI traffic set to about 60% and FSX is running very smooth, with the exception of the texture problems, I am happy with this package.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.