Home > Flight Simulation, Flightsim, FSX > New airport facility editor for FS9 and FSX

New airport facility editor for FS9 and FSX

Saturday, August 4th, 2007

Lee Swordy kindly created a superb freeware program which could be used to graphically edit airport facility files in FS8 and FS9.  He moved on to other things long ago, and the gap has apparently now been filled with a new program from Flight1, Airport Facilitor X.  Both FS9 and FSX facility files can be modified.  It seems to go far beyond Lee’s excellent AFCAD2, with features like live Flight Simulator updating in another window to preview and align your changes.  Intro price until August 19 is US$29.95.

I haven’t tried it yet, but it looks promising. 

EDIT: I purchased it and tried it out.  The GUI has apparently been almost directly duplicated from Lee’s AFCAD program, making transition to this tool easy.  The only differences I could see being in the added functionality.  Being able to see results in the sim as you work is superb.  I found a small latency in dragging points around when synced to the sim, but I understand this, and it didn’t bother me or affect my ability to use the functions.  Apparently there are also some XML commands the program doesn’t support, and some other minor glitches, so I’ll hold off for a while on using it for commercial projects (extra cost license that they are somewhat mysterious about), until they fix this up.  But I expect them to address any issues quickly.  As Arno points out there are some freeware alternatives out there.  Personally I prefer commercial versions, they are much more likely to be supported in the long term.

Support forum at http://www.simforums.com/forums/forum_topics.asp?FID=31

  1. ajith
    Monday, August 27th, 2007 at 9:29 am

    fantastic program to do with

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.