Home > Home, Technical > What to do with the dangly bits?

What to do with the dangly bits?

Saturday, November 7th, 2009

If you’re like me, you have lots of USB devices, but a few of them are rarely plugged in (iPod/Blackberry/Digital Camera/programmable TV remote control).  What do you do with the dangly bits when you’re not using them?

Here’s the solution my friend Mike Ray came up with for me.  Note that I didn’t want to damage my new pine desk, so the only screw holes are on the underside, and not visible.  We used a jig on a blank piece of wood with screws shrouded in concrete anchors to use as reference to wind the coat hanger around. 

Twist just the right way and the cord can be removed completely from the wire.

Note also that sometimes I disconnect my headphones, so I have a gap in the audio path that I can use to do this.  I disconnect when I’m driving my audio system in the living room from the computer.

If we were to do it again, we’d mount the wire lower so that the bits weren’t visible over the edge when not used.  As it is one or two stick up.

USB Cord Management1

USB Cord Management2

USB Cord Management3

Categories: Home, Technical