New toy

Sunday, September 14th, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

I finally replaced my dying laptop, and decided in one swoop to also move flight simulator testing to a newer laptop.  I chose the Lenovo Y50 from Newegg, which I’m quite happy with.  Specs:

  • Windows 8.1 – a joke of a user interface, which I’ve bypassed by using Classic Shell.  No wonder Mac visitors to my website have gone from 5% to 15%!
  • 2.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4700HQ
  • WDC WD10S21X-24R1BT0-SSHD-8GB [Hard drive] (1000.20 GB)
  • 16GB PC3-12800 DDR3L SDRAM 1600 MHz
  • NVIDIA® GTX-860M 2GB (Maxwell)
  • 15.6″ FHD (1920 x 1080) display

So I can run P3D at last (although I don’t like the washed out colours much and I can’t adjust sat/gamma/contrast on the NVidia card to correct this), but it’s good for testing so I am content.  At least I was once I convinced P3D not to use the lousy integrated graphics using the NVidia control panel.

One of my big issues for testing was FSX load time which is now down to  11 seconds to get to the sandbox, and 86 seconds to load a complicated area like VictoriaPlus.  These were both several minutes on my old rig.

I’m still slowly migrating applications.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

