Home > Development, Flight Simulation, Flightsim, FSX, Prepar3d, Saltspring, Victoria > Non-linear development – PNW Ferries and SaltspringPlus

Non-linear development – PNW Ferries and SaltspringPlus

Saturday, November 8th, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

So with all the teasers, why hasn’t Larry published his PNW ferry stuff or at least part of it?  We’ve stated that it’s hooked into my work on Saltspring, so how is that progressing?

Here’s some background.  What Larry and I are doing could better be called “exploring” than development, bouncing around on whim from area to area, adding this here, improving that there.  Releasing in increments, given the already complex installation, is a recipe for chaos.  So we don’t know how long it will take because we don’t know the scope.

This is being done primarily for fun.  And in my case, for various reasons I haven’t been able to give it much attention lately, which is actually part of a greater personal exploration.  Hence the lack of updates and screenshots.

So we have no dates for ourselves, let alone anyone else!  VictoriaPlus V8 for ORBX PNW has been more popular than expected, so we appreciate the support.

 

 

  1. Doug MacDonald
    Sunday, November 9th, 2014 at 11:15 am

    All in due time Jon, both you and Larry do such wonderful work that it is all worth
    the wait. Like you said, it’s a FUN project for you both, when it becomes otherwise
    it’s called WORK. Flight Sim should never be about work unless you are an Orbx
    or LM corporation. Enjoy your journey, wherever it may take you.
    My buddy and I still owe you a hamburger ( or whatever) at the Spitfire Grill. LOL.

  2. Sunday, November 9th, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Thanks for writing this Jon,

    As an example of the back and forth that Jon mentions, maybe I can describe one that happened today. If nothing else, it shows that getting it right is not easy for me, and it is usually not linear.

    I finally remembered that the Mayne Island terminal shown in Jon’s recent screenshot is used by three routes, not just one. This is a tricky problem due to the automated AI collision avoidance process, especially because the terminal at the other end of the route may have the same problem if it too serves more than one route. It’s a large interconnected maze of logic.

    It turned out that the exact stopping point of one of the Mayne routes needed to be adjusted, but in doing that I saw a texture problem on the Bowen Queen model that seemed quite mysterious. I could have ignored it, but I had a hunch about what was wrong and I wanted to see if I was right. It’s exploring in a way. The hunch was right; it was a due to a subtle texture size problem. But if I was going to fix that, why not fix the texture itself that I was not quite happy with by using a new photo of a real rusty deck instead of faking it by hand painting as I had done? And since I had to recompile the model anyway, why not add some 3D traffic cones I had made recently? So I got all that done, and now I’m back where I started, plus a little more and I can return to working on the project I left off to fix all this. So why don’t I work smart and avoid all this? You make joke, no?🙂

  3. Monday, November 10th, 2014 at 8:32 am

    Thanks as always, Doug. And thanks for the example, Larry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

