Home > Technical > Silver lining

Silver lining

Thursday, November 13th, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

My development computer wouldn’t boot the other day, and after some poking around I found that the boot drive was dead as a doorknob.  A boat anchor (for a small boat).  Data is on another drive so is fine, but I hate to put more $ into this ancient computer, first built in 2006 for nearly $5k, upgraded in 2008 for nearly $2k.  And everything runs fine on my new Lenovo laptop (i7, 4700HQ, 8Gb SSD, 1TB HDD, 16Gb RAM), but it lacks the large area of my desktop monitors, and the comfort of working at a desk.

So I found this 256Gb SSD (not the fastest of drives, but it’ll do, Donkey) for $110 with free shipping, should arrive next week and teach that old dog new tricks.  Bad news is that I need to reinstall Vista on it.  Ew.

Categories: Technical
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

